Il premio Deste 2013 a Kostas

Fra i più freschi premi d'arte oggi il Deste Prize 2013 è stato assegnato a Kostas Sahpazis.

 Kostas Sahpazis, installazione, 
foto di D.Tsoublekas, courtesy of Melas/Papadopoulos Gallery

Comunicato stampa

The DESTE Foundation for Contemporary Art and the Museum of Cycladic Art are pleased to announce the winner of the DESTE Prize 2013.

During an Award Ceremony that took place on Monday, September 9, 2013 at the Museum of Cycladic Art, the DESTE Prize was awarded to Kostas Sahpazis.

On behalf of the Jury Committee, Ms. Bice Curiger, curator of Kunsthalle Zurich, made the following announcement:

“It is a pleasure to announce to you in the name of all the jurors the winner of the 2013 DESTE Prize, a prize which is awarded every two years to a Greek or Cypriot artist living in Greece or abroad, and presented here, in the beautiful spaces of the Museum of Cycladic Art.
It is noteworthy that the quality of this year’s exhibition of all of the six shortlisted artists is very remarkable and didn’t make our decision easy. We would also like to mention that we were particularly grateful that the artists accepted to present their works personally, answering our questions.

And now the prize: We are very happy to announce that the prize is going to be awarded to Kostas Sahpazis for his complex sculptural work, a work which is introducing an oscillating force into all sorts of defined categories of art and art history, while revolving around ideas of subtle destabilization. It seems that Kostas Sahpazis is at times creating a painting while piling up materials into delicately calibrated stacks, or accumulating objects that are and are not always what they pretend to be. Here the very concrete and the abstract meet. Drawings are made in space, sometimes reflecting ‘figurative’ elements like a citation or a portrait of the surrounding world and blurring their meaning.”


Marianna Christofides (b. 1980, Nicosia, Cyprus)
Ilias Papailiakis (b. 1970, Crete, Greece)
Michail Pirgelis (b. 1976, Essen, Germany)
Kostas Sahpazis (b. 1977, Drama Greece)
Maria Theodoraki (b. 1977, Athens, Greece)
Alexandros Tzannis (b. 1979, Athens, Greece)


Aphrodite Gonou – Contemporary Art Advisor
Dennis Zacharopoulos – Art Historian and Critic, Artistic Director of
the Macedonian Museum of Contemporary Art, Thessaloniki
Eftihis Patsourakis – Artist, DESTE Prize 2011 shortlist
Nikos Pattichis – Collector, “Phileleftheros” Media Group, President
Faye Tzanetoulakou – Art Historian
Theophilos Tramboulis – Curator and Writer


Dakis Joannou – DESTE Foundation, President
John Bock – Artist
Bice Curiger – Kunsthaus Zurich, Curator
Daniel Birnbaum – Moderna Museet, Stockholm, Director
Michael Ringier – Collector
Beatrix Ruf – Kunsthalle Zurich, Director and Curator

Nessun commento: